Job Opportunity – Fixed Term Gallery Invigilator

Deadline: Monday 6 March at 5pm

Criw Celf is recruiting Gallery Invigilators for their forthcoming exhibition at 11 High Street Arcade, Cardiff CF10 1AW.  The services provided to Criw Celf are on a casual basis for an hourly rate. The invigilators will need to be available on all or some of the following dates between 11.45 to open the Exhibition and 16.10 to lock up and return the key. There are 11 half days available with two invigilators being in the exhibition space at one time.

Thurs 9 March, Fri 10 March, Sat 11 March,
Thurs 16 March, Fri 17 March, Sat 18 March
Thurs 23 March, Fri 24 March, Sat 25 March
Thurs 30 March, Fri 31 March.

Invigilator Duties

-Monitoring the gallery spaces, ensuring the safety of art works, reporting any incidents to a member of the Criw Celf
-Looking after both the public, providing proactive customer service to the public
-Actively acknowledging visitors and sharing information on the current exhibition and any other relevant Criw Celf/Arts Active related queries
-Informing the Criw Celf team immediately in the event of damage to the building on to any artwork, in the instance of any health and safety or security issues arising, and of any other emergencies that may occur.
-Conducting visitor surveys on behalf of Criw Celf
-Adhering to Health and Safety regulations, assisting visitors with access requirements, and also providing assistance to the public during evacuation procedures
-Helping with basic set up of events
-Assisting with the opening and closing of the off-site exhibition

Person Specification
Essential:
• Able to work the desired hours
• Practical knowledge about Health and Safety
• Excellent customer service skills
• Outgoing, positive personality with proactive communications skills
• Interest in contemporary visual arts

Desirable:
• Knowledge of the local area
• Previous gallery invigilation experience
• Language skills

Work Information
• Casual contract
• Gallery Invigilators report to Project Producer or Arts Active Team
• Pay is £8.00 per hour

Please send your CV and application to Tom Goddard, Project Producer: tom@artsactive.org.uk 
Format is free, but please use the Person Specification as a guideline.